I carried my heart in my hand…

We all have been at times, or even currently been a hypocrite. We’ve also been victims of hypocrisy. People acting one way around you, then indirectly acting another way contradicting that which they try to tell others.

Hypocrisy was an underlying tone of my fading relationship. Told that I was loved, even though there was an ulterior motive behind it all. What did I do to deserve it? Nothing. I felt like such a fool to fall for it. A fool for opening myself up to everyone and just getting it thrown back in my face. A heart that was opened up, shown for everyone to see, was trampled underfoot, destroyed.

People don’t know the damage they can do to a fellow human being. Sticks and stones may break bones,but words can hurt you to the core. All I wanted was to be happy. All I wanted was to live happily ever after. The stereotypical happy ending.

But, that’s not how life works sometimes. You can only control what you can control. Work on what you can control, forget what you can’t. Adapt. Evolve. Others also have to take into account what their actions can do. Using hypocrisy is just another form of deceit. And yes, we also can be hypocrites to ourselves.

“One should examine oneself for a very long time before thinking of condemning others”. – Moliere

Now Playing: “I Have Forgiven Jesus” by Morrissey

Leave a Reply

