Do I got what I want, or do I got what I need…

Acceptance sometimes can be difficult. We kick and scream, not wanting to conform to the way things are at the moment, unwilling to adapt and evolve. Patience can also be just as difficult. We want change and we want it now, without all the hassle.

You can place me in that category. Difficulty with acceptance at times, and patience admittedly isn’t one of my strongest virtues. I’m a lot better than I was when I was younger, but still at times, I would like things to move, move, move.

But with that lies a problem. When we hurry, and act out of desperation, we make mistakes. Things get missed or left undone. Sometimes you have to slow down, let things play out, and you will be better off. Forcing things will disrupt the motion in which your life is moving.

If you think about it, acceptance and patience work together. Learn to accept what’s in the now, and have the patience to get to where you need to be. We need to be less focused on what we WANT, and be more focused on what we NEED.

“Patience serves as a protection against wrongs as clothes do against cold. For if you put on more clothes as the cold increases, it will have no power to hurt you. So in like manner you must grow in patience when you meet with great wrongs, and they will then be powerless to vex your mind”. – Leonardo da Vinci

Now Playing: “Crash” by Papa Roach

5 thoughts on “Do I got what I want, or do I got what I need…

  1. Liked reading your post πŸ™‚ I write aphorism at my blog and one I had written few months back went “A bud is in no hurry to bloom.” Meaning it happens at its right pace. Your post reminded me of that. You are a great site!

  2. Its like you read my mind! You appear to grasp a lot approximately this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I believe that you can do with a few percent to power the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I will certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

