I watched you change…

In life it’s easy to point the finger and blame other people for things. I would consider myself a pretty straight forward individual, and try to be as honest as I can with people, including myself. So it was a bit of an epiphany when I looked in the mirror one day and just told myself to knock it off. Forget all that negative stuff, learn from your mistakes, and live your life. Stop thinking about other people and worry about yourself.

But for some people that seems to be some sort of addiction. They can never own up to anything, or they always have that “why me” attitude. It’s always someone elses fault.  Sometimes you have to look in the mirror.

There have been times, (present time included) where I just asked “why” or “why me”. Now, it doesn’t happen all the time, but it happens. So what do I do? What do we do? Wallow in the muck that is self pitty, or take a good look in that mirror and see what WE have done or didn’t do. How we lived our lives, how we’re going to fix things, including ourselves for the better.

So why play the blame game? We all make mistakes, go through rough patches, and fail once in a while. I’m paraphrasing here, but it’s not how many times you fall down, it’s how many times you get back up. Stop blaming other people and worry about yourself, because let’s face it, the only one living your life is you.

A man can fail many times, but he isn’t a failure until he begins to blame somebody else – John Burroughs

Now Playing: “Change” by Deftones

Leave a Reply

